Election programme and candidate list adopted at Party Congress

5 December 2016

At the Party Congress on Sunday the 27th of November last, the party members adopted the election programme and candidate list of the Party for the Animals for the Lower House election on the 15th of March 2017. The congress attracted many visitors: over 500 members travelled to the Zonheuvel Conference Centre in Doorn to attend the election congress.


The planet-wide election programme ‘Plan B’ is the start of the election campaign of the Party for the Animals. The planet-wide programme contains more than 550 measures to radically change the policy.

The candidate list with 50 names will again be led by leading candidate Marianne Thieme, followed by MP Esther Ouwehand in the second place. Additionally, there is many candidates at the bottom of the candidate list, including the 93-year-old artist Johan de Haas and the 16-year-old student and PINK! member Malou Herstel. With these two candidates, the Party for the Animals has the youngest as well as the oldest candidate on the list, who both propagate the importance of Plan B for future generations.

Furthermore, the Party for the Animals found many opinion leaders, artists and scientists prepared to put their names at the bottom of the candidate list. Including winners of literary awards: Charlotte Mutsaers, Maarten Biesheuvel, A.F.Th. van der Heijden, Jan Siebelink, Mensje van Keulen, and Bibi Dumon Tak.

From the field of science, the Party for the Animals is represented by Professor of Financial Geography Ewald Engelen, Professor at the faculty of Constitutional and Administrative Law Peter Nicolaï, Professor and environmental scientist Frank Berendse and PhD student of philosophy Eva Meijer.

Furthermore, there are names like Teske de Schepper, singer and vlogger, Annemarie Postma, author, and Jan-Peter Cruming and Volkert Engelsman, enterpreneurs, at the bottom of the candidate list. Also, actresses Babette van Veen and Georgina Verbaan, singer and composer Jan Rot, singer Dinand Woesthoff, author Mirjam Rotenstreich, and presenter Annemiek Schrijver support our party and have put their names at the bottom of the list.

The Party for the Animals is pleased that many prominent people support it. Their support has proved to be very important since the party’s campaign of 2006 when it was elected into parliament as the first political party in history that did not opt for short-term human interests as a starting point.

The first 29 candidates on the list

Marianne Thieme


Members have their say at the congress

MP Esther Ouwehand with board member Elze Boshart